GliderCENTRAL

Which Gender is best for colony?

Posted By: SugarFloof

Which Gender is best for colony? - 09/11/19 10:40 PM

Hello everyone! I'm new to GC and have a question.
I am currently doing research, Getting supplies, looking into getting gliders (a group of 3 most likely.) and i was wondering if getting 3 Neutered Males, 1 Neutered Male & 2 Females, or getting a group of 3 Females is best? I don't care about what sexes I own, but want to make sure not to do anything wrong since I'm going to be new to Glider owning. grin thanks
Posted By: Hutch

Re: Which Gender is best for colony? - 09/12/19 02:47 AM

Honestly, since the males will be neutered it doesn't really matter. It is less about the sex and more about the personality of the sugar glider as to how well they get along with the colony.
Posted By: Ladymagyver

Re: Which Gender is best for colony? - 09/12/19 05:18 PM

Hi and :welcomegc:!

I lost everything I typed last night, but it was a good thing.

Now I can agree with Hutch and add that my first two were girls and had become somewhat inactive. So just before their 4th birthday, I got Stewie... And I was warned about his behavior. He was a Joey and neutered, but it didn't slow him down. He is very hyper, doesn't bite, an all around sweetheart and has an awesome disposition. He's 18 months old now and has livened things up. The girls eat better, play like they have never played before. He was what my girls needed.

Having said that, I am still having issues with Stewie wanting to take over the alpha role, and I feel it has to do with some issues that have to do with each of the girls. It's too long of a story, but I feel if you get them all at the same time, a good breeder that is breeding for a better temperament, and they are already bonded, you won't have to deal with the issues I have.

Good luck and please keep us posted!
Posted By: Xeno

Re: Which Gender is best for colony? - 09/12/19 06:29 PM