GliderCENTRAL

Hi I'm new to sugar gliders

Posted By: Krausegliders

Hi I'm new to sugar gliders - 07/09/18 02:29 PM

Hi guys I'm new to sugar gliders, I was just wondering how I can train my sugar gliders to come when called and usually how fast the bonding process goes.
Thanks,
Michael
Posted By: KarenE

Re: Hi I'm new to sugar gliders - 07/09/18 03:05 PM

:welcomegc:

Much like our human toddlers, gliders have minds of their own. Usually they cannot be trained to do much of anything they really don't want to do rofl

That being said, after a while they may trick you into thinking they are responding to their name, however, they may really be running to you because they have learned you have goodies/treats :lol: One thing you will find is they are smarter than we give them credit agree Afterall, they are smart enough to train US :roflmao:

As for how long the bonding process takes, well that depends on many things, especially the glider. It will take as long as the glider wants it to take. Some bond quickly and others take much longer.

I am going to move your thread to our Bonding & Relations Forum. In the meantime you will find this, Into The Bonding Pit, very helpful.

Please ask any and all questions you may have.
Posted By: Ladymagyver

Re: Hi I'm new to sugar gliders - 07/09/18 06:43 PM

Hi! And

:welcome2: to Glider Central!

Mine know their names, but live to ignore me. They even cop an additude when I get them wrong.

I started teaching mine with a treat. Calling them by name and giving a treat. They are 4 years old and only come to me when they are loose if I have a treat, or they are tired and want to go to bed. Otherwise, I get ignored.
Posted By: BYK_Chainsaw

Re: Hi I'm new to sugar gliders - 07/09/18 06:53 PM

The bonding process depends on many different things. Mostly the glider, but also how well you work with them. Also over handling can be a problem.