GliderCENTRAL

Breeding Quads- What should I expect???

Posted By: Guerita135

Breeding Quads- What should I expect??? - 05/23/09 03:31 AM

I've only ever had breeding pairs, but had intended on having a breeding quad in the future(was waiting to put the boy with the girls). However, due to certain circumstances I had to put a different boy with the girls and, well, he's a bit of a manly-man glider and already has all 3 girls preggers with twins IP. Sooo...now we've got 6 joeys on the way in just 1 cage! crazy

Since I'm new to this I'm curious what I should be prepared for. Are there any specific things/signs I should be watching out for as far as the girls trying to steal/kill each other's joeys?

None of the girls are related. 2 are younger and about the same age. They get along perfectly and 9 times out of 10 when I come I go into the glider room I'll find the 2 of them play-wrestling in the ball bit, lol. The 3rd girl is older(2 1/2 years old) and used to be in a trio and never bred. She just babysat. So, I didn't think she'd ever have joeys, but she surprised us and gave birth to 2 joeys a couple days ago, lol.

All 3 girls are due in July. The 2 younger girls are 2 weeks along and the older girl is just a couple days along. At what point are the girls more likely to get aggressive(if ever): the beginning/end of the joeys being IP or after the joeys come OOP?

I'm excited but nervous at the same time, lol. All the girls are realy sweet and get along like they've been together from birth, so I think they'll do great, but I can't help but to be nervous. tounge Any pointers you all can offer would be greatly appreciated. wink
Posted By: suggiemom1980

Re: Breeding Quads- What should I expect??? - 05/23/09 04:16 AM